GOD complex

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DocHeart

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Do most doctors develop it?

Members don't see this ad.

I have been working in the medical field for five years now, and I can tell you at first, many doctors seem like pricks. Although it is true that many physicians forget that their name is followed by M.D. and not G.O.D., the more you are exposed to medicine, the more realistic your perceptions become. After I began working with doctors, I changed my major at the university to pre-nursing because I thought that would be the only way to really take care of people and keep personable and grounded. After continued exposure, I realized that the doctors that are good are REALLY good and I went back on the pre-med track and haven't looked back since.

The doctors that often come off with this attitude, at least in my experience, are cardiothoracic surgeons, trauma surgeons and interventional cardiologists. These guys also by far have one of the highest stress environments when it comes to critical patients. Literally every second counts and minor discrepancies can lead to the permanent injury/death of the patient for which they will be held responsible. Therefore, these guys tend to be the pickiest, crankiest and most demanding, but for good reason.