Going into the military as a civilian PT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

malibu3

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

So I'm about to enter into a school where tuition is 99,000 and after PT school I would love to travel the world. Has anyone gone military before? Do they do loan forgiveness programs if you give time to the military? My dream is to be stationed overseas in Japan on a base and work my loans off.

Members don't see this ad.

Are you talking about joining the military or working for them as a civilian PT? I can't tell you much about the civilian side, but I know a bit about the military side, specifically the Army. I was in the Army for more than a decade, including a stint as a recruiter so I have some knowledge of the benefits. After I got out I also spent a lot of time at a military clinic as I prepared to apply to Army-Baylor. I would definitely talk to a recruiter though, as they will be able to give you the most up to date information. Some enlistment benefits change on literally a daily basis based on mission requirements and other factors so it's probably impossible for anyone outside of that realm to give you up to date info.