1. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

GPA question

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by rose0826, Jul 26, 2000.

1. rose0826

rose0826 New Member

I am appling to dental school this year and am wondering if I am competitive. I graduated from undergrad with a 3.2 and science GPA of 3.3 from a very competitive university and I am currently finishing up my masters degree in epidemiology with a 3.6. Is this competitive and does it make me more competitive with a masters?
    Finally I am considering taking the DAT again I currently have a 17?
    Should I retake?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. 37dunnee

37dunnee New Member

rose0826,

I am currently a 4th year dental student at Indiana University School of Dentistry. I would not be too discouraged with your undergrad GPA. While the average GPA for admissions seem to increase yearly, as long as you have a "reasonable" undergrad GPA you should be fine. Also, with your masters in epidemiology and a 3.6 GPA to boot, you have shown that you can handle the academic load of dental school. As for the DAT scores, I think that 17 is at or slightly below the average for most accepted applicants. Also, it's important to look at the breakdown of your DAT scores (academic vs. perceptual). While most schools would not eliminate you from the applicant pool based on an average DAT of 17, I would strongly encourage you to re-take the exam. You are not penalized for taking the exam more than once. I have a classmate who took the exam 3x until he got an average of 19 academic and 18 perceptual. He's doing great and looking forward to graduation in May 2001. Good luck in your application processs.

4. smiledoc2004

smiledoc2004 Member