Grad student CV: Listing undergrad stuff/posters & articles from same project?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futureapppsy2

Assistant professor
Volunteer Staff
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a first year grad student in a PhD program. When I was applying, I obviously listed my undergrad research experience, clinical experience, thesis, awards/scholarships, and a couple of poster presentations at undergrad conferences. At what point should I take these off my CV? On one hand, I've seen a fourth year grad student list UG conference poster presentations that he was an author on on his CV. OTOH, I've seen people say that after you get in, undergrad stuff, with the exception of publications and maybe presentations doesn't matter. Does anyone have any ideas about the general practices for this?

On a related note, on another thread O Gurl said:

Also for future reference, be advised that listing the same project in more than one format (publication and conference presentation) becomes more problematic at later training stages as it may look like CV-"padding".

Is this true in your experience? In the lab I worked in as an undergrad and the labs I work in now as a grad student, we typically get 1-2 presentations or posters out of our projects in addition to one or more publications. Pretty much all of the posters and presentations I've been in author on are linked to projects that we've published or are planning to publish, so if I took them off, it would look like I pretty much never presented. OTOH, I know CV padding can look quite bad, so I want to avoid giving any impression of that...

Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.