Graduating EM resident - ask away, anything

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pinipig523

I like my job!
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I figured it would be good to get an idea of what it's like to go through residency and the field of Emergency Medicine. I recall my premed and med school years, it's tough to weed through the information especially when your sources are other premeds or med students.

This is stuff I wish I knew as a premed student - so ask away.

A little about myself:
- Born and raised in the Chicagoland area
- Went to a Chicago undergrad, med school, and residency program - I pretty much went to where I wanted to go
- I am a traditional student. Went straight, no breaks.
- Job will be in another state - contract at hand

Anything is fair game - why, what, when, pros/cons, what I wish I knew, what I would've done otherwise, pay, etc...

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Guess I'll start:

1) Why EM?

2) What other specialties did you consider?

3) When did you "officially" decide on EM?

4) Would you have still done EM if you had gotten a 250+ on your Step 1 and honored all of your 3rd year rotations (assuming you didn't)?

5) How do you feel about the future of EM especially with regards to EC's losing tons of money and shutting down as well as the [possible] encroachment by mid-level providers.

6) What would you have changed about your medical school experience (academic, personal, otherwise)?

Thanks for doing this! :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad :)
1) I see you are a PGY-4. Are you in a 4-year program, or did you do something else the first year? If in a 4-year program, would you rather have trained in a 3-year program, or do you feel the year of lost attending salary was worth the additional training? If you did something else before starting a 3-year program, what was it and why did you change?