GRE prep

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nimi

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi ,I am a foreign trained dentist .I would to know how important is writing GRE for post graduate admission .Does it really helps ? .How long does it take to prepare for GRE and what are the study materials to get good marks ? .Any help is greatly appreciated.
thanks much
nimi

Members don't see this ad.

Nimi,

I know that majority (if not all) of Endodontics Post-doctoral dental training requires the GRE. To me, I think it's BUL# Shi@!! So, let me understand this, for a typical U.S. dental students, you've taken the DAT, NBDE Part I, NBDE Part II, and your regional licensure exam (or your state licensure exam), now you have to take the Graduate Record Examination (GRE) if you want to go into Endo!? Maybe since the Endo. specialty is so competitive that dental schools want it to make it MORE competitive by adding a "BS" examination in there (one more step that you'll have to take to apply).

At any rate, to answer you questions, yes, GRE is important in "some" post-doctoral dental training (for example: Endodontics). I'm not sure about Ortho, Pedo, Perio, or Prostho if GRE is needed. I know for sure that Oral Surgery, Advanced Education General Dentistry (AEGD), and General Practice Residency (GPR), the GRE is NOT required!

GRE studying materials, there are so many!!! I would recommend Kaplan, all their studying courses and printing materials are usually pretty good. I provided you with their web site:

<a href="http://www.kaptest.com/repository/templates/Lev3InitDroplet.jhtml?_lev3Parent=/www/KapTest/docs/repository/content/Graduate/GRE" target="_blank">http://www.kaptest.com/repository/templates/Lev3InitDroplet.jhtml?_lev3Parent=/www/KapTest/docs/repository/content/Graduate/GRE</a>

For the official GRE web site, visit:

<a href="http://www.gre.org/" target="_blank">http://www.gre.org/</a>