Green Card Question for studying in Caribbean

Discussion in 'General International Discussion' started by Prospective Doctor, Oct 29, 2002.

1. Prospective Doctor

Hello,

I'm a permanent resident of US (Green Card Holder). Are there any concerns or issues for US permanent Residents to live and study outside of US for 2 years? If you're someone who is a permanent resident of US and went to caribbean medical school, please let me know what you did to preserve your green card. I have heard a lot of things about not able to stay for more than six months, re-entry permit etc.

I am very worried. I do not want to risk my green card status. Please reply!!

Thanks

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. getin

getin Junior Member

I didn't go to the Caribbean yet, but as u said u r only allowed to stay outside US for 6 months and u have to come back. Most people come back during the summer and then back to Caribbean. ...So don't worry about it too much there are many way u can do it. (I am getting my citizenship next year :clap: ) I hope I could get in to US school before I had to consider Caribbean :rolleyes:

4. Skip Intro

Skip Intro Registered User

Attending Physician
    Provided your green card doesn't expire and you return back to the U.S. (or at least Puerto Rico) to get your passport stamped before the six-month thing, I don't think there are any problems.

A lot of students at Ross are in the same boat. I haven't heard of any of them having a problem. However, coordinate with the school you plan to attend. That's the surest way to avoid problems.

-Skip
    MS2 Ross University
    Portsmouth, Dominica

5. tBw

tBw totally deluded

it depends which answer you want - the answer that tells you your legal standing regarding this, or the answer as to what has happened *in-practice*. The former answer tells you what rights you are guaranteed (none!) and the latter tells you what ones you are likely to be afforded.