Guidance After Waitlisted.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

winniekate07

ISU c/o 2025!!
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a non-traditional student. I have had an interesting path (to say the least) but these past 7ish years have been dedicated to vet med. I did very poorly in my under grad 11 years ago and ended up failing out. Those grades have obviously negatively impacted my cumulative GPA so I only applied to schools that would look at last 45/Science/Pre-reqs or schools that would disregard my previous GPA.

One school I was waitlisted at didn't include my previous GPA and they didn't re-evaluate it when offering admissions (admission was dependent on interview and applications).

I have great letters of rec from doctors I have worked with for years. I have 15k vet hours 1/2 or more of those include exotics. I have nearly 10k of rescue/foster hours. I have 1k in large animal. No research as I was struggling to get experience during covid- I am hoping to improve that part of my applications. In addition to that I have 3 years experience working within a sober living facility.

I guess I am looking for guidance on what I can do to improve my application. I feel like I have varied experience and I have worked so hard for this (like I know so many of us have). I am feeling extremely defeated as I will be 35 if I get in next round.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a non-traditional student. I have had an interesting path (to say the least) but these past 7ish years have been dedicated to vet med. I did very poorly in my under grad 11 years ago and ended up failing out. Those grades have obviously negatively impacted my cumulative GPA so I only applied to schools that would look at last 45/Science/Pre-reqs or schools that would disregard my previous GPA.