Guidance Needed: Eligibility for Need-Based Aid in Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

radnerd

Reaction score
Deleted. Solved.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Generally, no. You can either be old enough (24) or have formally and legally separated from your parents (emancipation) to not have their income considered.

But the fact that you want to fund your education independently does not compete on even footing with people who have no other option.

Reactions: 1 users
I can answer some questions here based on personal experience, but I'm not an expert, and you should definitely reach out to the financial aid office of your acceptances and just ask them some of these questions.

1. You won't be getting Pell grants for med school, but you'll still qualify for the types of unsubsidized loans that all grad students do regardless of income. This should be enough money ($200,000+_) to cover fees at a typical in-state school. I'm not sure if it's enough to cover private schools that cost more like $400,000 without having to take out private loans, but if you were accepted to Harvard for example, they probably have a system down for people like yourself. My point is, ask your school/each school to make sure, but I am 99% sure you'll be able to get loans for whatever you need. They just might be at a crappy interest rate as opposed to someone from a more working-class background.

Also, most medical schools need to see your parents' income to justify any kind of federal loans, even if it isn't need-based. This is bad policy in my opinion, and because of that, some schools (like mine) have changed their policy. But whether they take your parents' income into account is each individual school's policy.