MD Guidance on my options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CarolG

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there

I'm a 23 yr old grad of UCR (majored in media and communications), latina, california state resident.

I initially aimed to major in pre-med but after failing calculus, switched.

But I am now ready to target med school. I'm struggling to work out the steps to doing so.

Some background:

1750 SAT
3.0 GPA
500h + medical voluntary (red cross, hospital, first aid certification)
Completed courses: General Chemistry with lab (1 quarter)
Now based in Cambridge, MA, but willing to move

The options I've been considering:

- Post-bac programs (1 v 2 year) - Problem is, the 1 year ones require one year of chem, bio, biochem and physics (and don't teach the pre-reqs for med school)
- Extension classes to finish med school pre-reqs (and to boost GPA - is that possible? And how harmful is my GPA?)
- Military route (provides classes and funding)
- Alternatives?

Were I to take the extension classes approach would it then be worth going for Post-bac still or shooting straight for med school?

What sort of schools should I reasonably be targeting? UCSF? (I fulfill the underserved communities requirement very well...) San Diego State U, Brandeis, Cornell, Columbia, Georgetown? If I do want to target those schools, what would I need to do to get up to that level?

Thanks so much for all and any help, I really appreciate it!

Carol

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Carol,

I started the post-bacc thing a few years ago so I think I should be able to help you with some useful advice.