Hard Decision... Advice Helpful

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
H

HCHopeful

So, I studied using TBR (Physics, Gen Chem, and Bio) and I recently finished the 2 months of content review. I studied no Organic as I am taking it now. I fully expect my biological sciences score to be lower than what many would want. I just wanted to state that before getting into this.

Alright, I recently took a Kaplan MCAT and AAMC #7. Here are the breakdowns.

Kaplan MCAT: 29 (12/9/8)
AAMC #7: 28 (10/10/8)

My verbal ranges from 9-11, so those scores are pretty indicative. The Biological is right where I would expect, given my lack of O-Chem knowledge (literally have taken one test in O-Chem 1), and Physical basically shows the best and worst case scenarios. I averaged a 10.75 during my Berkeley Review studies in Physics and Gen Chem combined, so I'd expect my score to hover around the 11 mark in PS (I was one question away from an 11 on AAMC #7).

I AM OKAY WITH GETTING A 30 (or even a 29).

Just wanted to make that known. I have a 3.89 GPA with a 3.95 sGPA. I wish to attend UNMC and ONLY UNMC. I am a Nebraska resident, so a 30 is more than competitive.

My question is this: I am scheduled for January 23rd, but I have the option to reschedule for November 7th. If I reschedule for November 7th, is it realistic to expect a 2-3 point increase in a month's time of studying?

My biggest weaknesses right now are test fatigue and Organic (33/52 on BS on AAMC #7; 13 of the misses were Organic). I don't see one semester of Organic at my college helping all that much, as we hit most of the MCAT related material in the 2nd semester.

I am extremely torn between taking November 7th and having the option to retake or waiting until January. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks everybody.

Members don't see this ad.