1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

hard to be accurate

Discussion in 'Pharmacy' started by Lisochka, Jul 28, 2011.

1. Lisochka

Lisochka Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

it is so hard for me to be accurate. I feel like I make waaaay more mistakes when there is a high volume of prescriptions and I am in a hurry to get them in. How to train yourself to make less mistakes? Sometimes I have to make myself to concentrate, it requires a physical effort, sort of like I am lifting weight... only not my hands but my brain does it. But I can physically feel it. It is weird. it is a physicall effort for me to make myself to concentrate...
    I am in my last year of school, I am scared.... I want to train myself to make less mistakes. how?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. sakigt

sakigt Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    The way Ive done it (and trained others to think the same way) is assume you make mistakes all the time. Set up your workflow so that you do the same thing, the same way, everytime.

I dont have any community Pharmacist related ideas but when I was a lab tech when we relabeled specimens I taught people to put the label slightly below the other one....if you mislabel its easier to notice...and even if you dont catch the mistake its easier for someone else to. As an IV tech, everytime I push a med into a bag I flip the bag....just helps me keep track of what Im doing.

4. DRxUGS

2+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    Assume there is an error with every single thing you check.

5. Lisochka

Lisochka Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

what if it will slow me down so much that my pharmacist will be made that I am not able to handle the work load...