Having a baby during residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dwil75

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a first year resident and just found out I am pregnant. While my husband and I are very happy about it, I am concerned about how to manage this. Specifically, we don't have a family support network in the area to help us, and we are both very uncomfortable leaving a small baby in daycare 60+ hours a week. Is it possible to leave residency in order to raise a family and return a few years later when children are young school aged? Is an at-home child care provider affordable on two resident salaries, and if so, how easy is it to find one? Has anyone ever worked out some kind of part-time position with their PD after having a child?

I'm sure hundreds of others have found ways to cope with this challenge, and ask for any constructive, friendly advice anyone can give from real experiences, especially those, like us, who don't have grandparents or other family nearby to help, and don't want to put an infant child into full time daycare.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Wow this is a tough situation. Are you in a residency program that allows for a year-long leave of absence? Can you go into the lab to do research for a year or two? How much maternity leave time do you get?

you should look into your program's maternity leave policy. at my program, you get four weeks of paid leave, and you can take more unpaid leave, but you need to make that time up at the end of residency. how old do you want your baby to be before daycare?