Having Difficulties Fitting In

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopsfalling

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am not sure where else to turn, so I am posting here. I am a first year vet student and I am having trouble fitting in. I seriously feel like a complete idiot in my class and that everyone around me is so much smarter. I am having trouble keeping up with where everyone else is and it is making me feel like I can't do this. Aside from that, I am not feeling confident and I know others can see it. Is anyone else having this problem? I hate the way this feels...

Members don't see this ad.

I am not sure where else to turn, so I am posting here. I am a first year vet student and I am having trouble fitting in. I seriously feel like a complete idiot in my class and that everyone around me is so much smarter. I am having trouble keeping up with where everyone else is and it is making me feel like I can't do this. Aside from that, I am not feeling confident and I know others can see it. Is anyone else having this problem? I hate the way this feels...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impostor_syndrome
http://gradschool.about.com/od/survivinggraduateschool/a/impostor.htm

in med school we call it the impostor syndrome and it's typical for 1st semester students to have. it will pass. just make sure you focus on studying so you can do well and make those feelings go away.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impostor_syndrome
http://gradschool.about.com/od/survivinggraduateschool/a/impostor.htm

in med school we call it the impostor syndrome and it's typical for 1st semester students to have. it will pass. just make sure you focus on studying so you can do well and make those feelings go away.

That's me...

dismissing success as simply luck, good timing, or perseverance