Having problems with probability in math section

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pandalove89

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey boys and girls.

I've recently been getting really nervous about the probability portion of the math section.

I understand easy probability like what are the chances of rolling a 4 on a die consecutively....but when do we exactly do the following:

1. Permutations like: 5! or some things like (5!)/(2!)(3!)
2. When do we multiply probabilities together. Like if there's 4 boys how many ways can we put them in order. Is it 4x4?
3. There are also random permutation equations that confuse me a lot

So the general question is...are there easy ways to remember certain probability formulas?

Cheers!

Members don't see this ad.

I am not very good at probability myself, but #2, 4! (4*3*2*1)= 24. I believe.

I know how to do permutations.

What I'm asking is if anyone can tell me when I use certain equations/formulas during certain situations.

Like when to use permutations vs when to multiply numbers by themselves...

any help?

I'll take a stab at it.
I think you use X! when you are trying to find the total combination when using ALL of Boys/girls available.

For example, how many ways can we arrange 5 people in line?
So it would be 5!

However, if we're given a situation where we say for example:
There are 10 people. Out of those 10 people, we need to select 5 people. How many different combination will there be?
In this case, the order in which we select the people does not matter. We are just selecting 5 different people.
So in this case, we need to use the equation:
n!/(n-r)!r!
n = total amount of people
r = The amount of people chosen (There's probably a better way to word this)

However, we can have a different case, for example:
There are 10 people. How many different ways can we them up if 5 people are chosen.