Health problems associated with pathology training/career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

the_fool

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I'm a medical student and I have had great interest in pathology training since I took brief elective courses during my clinical years. I would really like to apply to the training program.

However, I have some concern about health problems associated with path training and also career.

1.Short term effect: motion sickness from viewing slides either with staff or alone - this issue haunted me some times in the past during the course I mentioned. In some days, it's comfortable. But in others, I got nauseous hours but it should improve in just one night sleep. One hypothesis has been made that I'm not going to make it along the training, but I don't think that everyone can stay bold and withstand that pace of handful slides without any sense of light-headedness, so I'm not sure. In my recent memory, it's not frequent that I got motion sickness from cars, airplanes, ferries or even speedboats. Also, some colleagues outside pathology remind me that the dizziness-like symptom could be a result of myofascial pain syndrome from prolonged poor position with the microscope.

2.Long term effect: such as carcinogenic effect asscoiated with biochemical/immunological stains or fixatives.

So could anybody share some experiences about these issues please?

Members don't see this ad.