Hello Non-trads.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Racecardoctor

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! Finally registered to introduce myself (long time lurker) and wanted to join so that I could get the real advice and share in my journey. By small margin I am a non-traditional student in one aspect. In that I became a pre-med student with after joining the workforce for about 16 years. So the back story on that is : Im 34 years old, I got my BA in Human Development with a specialization in early childhood education 4 years ago. When I first started college in 2000 (Community college) I was looking to follow the family footsteps and become a physician. All of my immediate family members are doctors. At the time I thought of doing pediatrics so I thought why don’t I take Early childhood education and child development course to get some better exposure as well as volunteering at my local children's hospital. What got me hooked on becoming a preschool teacher was that I felt great enjoyment in helping children reach their next developmental level through the lesson plans I helped create and also through interacting with them during their daily routines. I also saw that males were very under-represented and I wanted to be a positive light in that. I also enjoyed helping parents understand their children's development.