HELP! Bad GPA overall

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OPTfinder

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have a 2.6 overall undergrad GPA and a 2.4 GPA in my biology physiology major and I'm graduating this week so I'll be completely down with undergrad schooling.

I have no research experience and only a few hours of job shadowing. What can I do to build my application and get into optometry school?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm going to be done with undergraduate school this week. I'm graduating.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm going to be done with undergraduate school this week. I'm graduating.

Take upper level science classes after graduating. You may be an intelligent person that is capable of handling a rigorous optometry curriculum but your GPA does not reflect that. There is no way around it other than taking more classes, even repeating some classes you did poorly in, and doing really well. If you really want to do it then you will put in the work and time required to pull your gpa up and have something to show for yourself. You could have a million hours shadowing, excellent rec letters and a really good oat score but that doesnt compensate for a weak gpa. They look at gpa's because it shows a long term trend and you need to counterbalance that by creating an upward trend. Once youve got some recent coursework in which you do well then you can even contact schools you are interested and ask them what you can do to get in. you could even contact them now and explain your situation then ask them what you need to do to get in. They are usually pretty honest and helpful. hope this helps, good luck.

So I have a 2.6 overall undergrad GPA and a 2.4 GPA in my biology physiology major and I'm graduating this week so I'll be completely down with undergrad schooling.