• Set Yourself Up For Success Webinar

October 6, 2021 at 2 PM Eastern/11 AM Pacific
    SDN and Osmosis are teaming up to help you get set up for success this school year! We'll be covering study tips, healthy habits, and meeting mentors.

Register Now!

• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

General Admissions & OTCAS Help! C- in undergrad thesis course

casseve2111

7+ Year Member
Jul 6, 2014
Hi everyone,
It has been a dream of mine for to be an OT for the past three years.
I recently finished my undergrad in June, and I received straight A's through my entire program (two years--I was a transfer student), with the exception of one B and a C- in my final thesis course !

My question is: Do you think the C- in my thesis class is going to ruin my chances at getting in to OT school? I'm afraid it will look like I'm a terrible researcher or can't handle grad school level work.

The truth is, the school I went to for undergrad was a quarter system school. SO, I had only 3 months to carry out a research project composing of 8-10 interviews.
Keep in mind, my research topic was quite controversial, so no one really wanted to participate to begin with. And on top of that, I had never done a research project before. I was not aware of all the paperwork and hoops I needed to jump through in order to even begin my data collection.
I ended up with only 3 interviews, and wrote a pretty good paper. But due to lack of data, my teacher gave me a C-.

Do you think this will turn away schools? If all of my stats are somewhat high and looking strong, do you think I will still have a chance?

proapplicant

2+ Year Member
Apr 13, 2016