HELP: Cal or UCI?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doc3232

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a chem major in a UC and I want to transfer to either UCI or UCB, but my gpa is around a 3.5 and I don't want it to drop anymore (I need to raise it to about a 3.6, hopefully). All I have left are those upper divisions classes (about 1.5 years left to finish). Cal is one of the top schools in the nation, would it look much better if I graduated from there (what would D-schools think).

I need help because I have 1 day to decide.

Thanks very much fellow SDNers.

Members don't see this ad.

If you get the same grades, it won't matter which one you go to.

Members don't see this ad :)
i go to UCI. In terms of bio I feel that its pretty intense here. I'm not sure how it is in CAL but I'm sure their gangster too :cool:. But yeah I think CAL would look better to D-schools, no offense to my fellow anteaters. :p

i say it doesnt matter, as long as u get the grades.

What's wrong with the UC you're at now? Is it that easy to transfer between schools? Do you like the quarter system? I didn't like the semester system at Cal, so much rides on 1 or 2 tests and they just cover too much material. Do you like the Bay Area or OC more?

Even though I struggled at Cal, if I had to make the choice between there and UCI, I would choose Cal for sure. Mainly because I'm from the Bay Area and enjoy the more progressive mindset of the atmosphere in Berkeley. I think going to UCI would drive me nuts. Too cookie cutter there for me.