Help Choosing a Program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mango4193

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, could use some advice!

I'm graduating with my BS this year and decided to apply to some MPH programs last minute (I'm talking submitted my apps ~2 weeks ago) on a whim. I ended up getting accepted to every school I applied to, which now makes for a stressful decision! Here is some background: I'm a pre-dental student who was also a Public Health-Global Health major. I fell in love with public health and decided I want to be a public health dentist so I can work in the PH field while also working directly with patients. I would complete most of my master's this coming academic year and hopefully, begin dental school next fall. If the program I choose is longer than a year, I'll finish it up after I graduate dental school. Most schools' scholarship deadlines were closed by the time I applied (as were outside scholarships), so money is definitely a consideration. I also want to be somewhere with a decent city and academic culture. I'd love to publish some research as well.

Here are the schools: Duke (+20k scholarship), Emory, Dartmouth, UTH, GWU (+10k), Baylor (Also, the somewhat random list is a result of application fee waivers from certain schools that made me think, 'why not.')