HELP! Do I have a chance with such a nontraditional education?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WishfulApplicant

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
:help::help::help:So, I need some advice guys... I feel like I have one of the most nontraditional applications possible and I'm not sure if it is going to hurt me in this application cycle. Here's the brief of my story:

-I was home educated for all of my grade school (k-12)
-Because I could study all the time as a home schooler, I worked faster and worked through the summer and finished Michigan's high school requirements at age 15
-Instead of starting college, I started studying for my introductory college classes on my own
-Once I did start college at 17, I already knew most of the information for the first couple years of college and took CLEP tests and other credit by exams (no APs though) for literally 35 classes :nailbiting:
-This allowed me to graduate in a year and a half at age 19 with a 4.0 GPA and zero debt, which was kind of nice
-Keep in mind that GPA is only based on 14 classes though because CLEPs do not have any grades
-I have done a fair bit of post bac work following graduation
-MCAT: 38 (PS: 11, VR: 13, BS: 14)
-I have loads of clinical experience but not a drop of research experience :bang::dead:

Finally, here is the list of schools I have applied to thus far:
-University of Michigan
-Michigan State
-UCSD
-Ohio State
-Stanford
-Harvard
-Loma Linda
-Yale
-UC Davis
-UC Irvine
-Mayo
-Washington University in St. Louis

Do I have a chance at any of these schools?? :shrug::help:

Members don't see this ad.

OP, a very important question that you did not answer in your post was - does your formal college transcript contain the basic prereqs, i.e. two semesters pchem, two semesters ochem, two semesters bio, two semesters physics? If they aren't in that formal transcript, you may have some problems.