HELP!!! How to 'transfer' pts (physio)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rice_boy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

i'm a med student and have got OSCE exams in the next few days.

I need some urgent help on how to transfer a disabled person from bed to chair AND chair to standing. I know this is very much the realm of physiotherapy - but for some stupid reason, this may be an OSCE station.

I have searched the net far and wide and have yielded nothing.

please, enlighten me.

thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I can't believe that would be at one of your stations. It depends on what condition the patient has and how severe their disability. That's why you can't find anything on the web.

Members don't see this ad :)
I need some urgent help on how to transfer a disabled person from bed to chair AND chair to standing. I know this is very much the realm of physiotherapy - but for some stupid reason, this may be an OSCE station.

"Nurse! Oh, nuuuuuuuurse!" ;)

Be more specific. What type of disabled person? CVA? SCI? deconditioned elderly man? it depends. I'll be glad to help, but be specific...

well.. it is a ******ed station... but you see, i come from a ******ed australian medical curriculum.

Ok.. so how would you transfer:

1) An aged care patient (assuming no limb paresis, apart from the usual frailty and lack of balance) from bed-->chair AND chair--> standing ?

2) A pt with hemiparesis from stroke from wheelchair --> bed/chair ?

thanks for your input :D

hmm....usualy i ask the pt to do it and assist where necessary. I have done this many times. w/ pt of varying disability, but im a 5'8" 225lbs and stronger than average, i dont have a problem transfering most of the pts weight for them if needs be.

i would be interested in knowing what "proper" technique would be.

well.. it is a ******ed station... but you see, i come from a ******ed australian medical curriculum.