Help! Looking into Masters programs as a launching pad to med school!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mrspooky

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Way back when I double-majored in two sciences when I was in college (genetics and cognitive science from an Ivy League university) but due to a plethora of issues that were personal combined the stress of academia, I graduated with a middling GPA of about 2.8.

I desperately want to get into a good medical school. My GPA certainly doesn't reflect my true academic ability: I took subsequently took several courses on human anatomy, infectious diseases, and developmental bio, scoring near the top of the class in each instance (all As). I studied my butt off and got a score of 37 on my MCAT. I even have a research publication to my name (2nd author) and did a 1-month internship in a neurosurgical ward where I shadowed the surgeons. However, to shore up my GPA I feel like I need to do a masters program before applying to med school. That 2.8 is just a big glaring black mark on my application, and I need to clear it out.

The trouble is whether I should do a nursing masters program or an academic masters program, or perhaps something else... I've applied to postbaccalaureate programs but they recommended I do a Masters instead given how GPA is apparently accounted for in a postbacc vs a masters. Any advice would be appreciated.

edit: Please note that I am from California. While I am not averse to studying out of state, I would prefer to remain in-state.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
The postbac forum has tons of info for you. In particular, there are special masters programs (aka med masters or SMPs) where you effectively do the first year of med school as an audition for med school. Or you could just keep doing undergrad, anywhere you want, all the upper div science you can get, until you've got a couple years of 3.7+.