HELP me understand the Basics...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MGMC

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a final year medical student in India. I will be taking USMLE in the year 2012. Can some one guide me in understanding what happens next (Once i have cleared my USMLE) I want to do Cardiology or Oncology. I am aware that i need to do Residency there for 3 years and then i choose any one of the above option.

In order to do that do i have to take Internal medicine residency? and then choose Cardio or Onco fellowship? So does it mean that 3 years of Res + 3 years of cardio or Onco?

And do i have to pay for my residency like an annual fee or do i get payed?

I would be really grateful if someone guide me in understanding these things.

Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

You should do a quick search for some of your questions - they have been answered in-depth during other discussions.

Basically, pursuing a Cardiology or Hematology/Oncology fellowship means finishing a 3-year Internal Medicine residency first. You get paid an annual salary for each year you're a resident/fellow. Which Step are you taking in 2012?

I will be doing all the steps (one, CK and CS) by 2012 so that i will register and be ready for march matching on 2013

I am starting this far out due to my one year CRRI in my med school

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi Vasca,
Per your suggestion : How does one get an externship if one is an IMG and already finished school quite a while ago. What would be the incentive of any clinic or hospital to offer one to me?

Btw: Your description of where you are in Mexico sounds quite cute to me! :)

You will have to pay a ticket to the US with your own money to travel there and do the exam. It would be really reasonable for me because I just live south of the border, but it's probably really hard for you because you live in the other side of the world.