Help me with my studying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IntoTheNight

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Not sure if I’m behind or doing too much, but here is my situation.

I think I’m studying poorly. I am running low on time/mental capacity with using Anki. I average over 1100 cards a day. I started using it for our second block and have now hit over 4000 cards with around 17 days using it.

I’m using Sketchy/Boards to learn things, but really just using Zanki to memorize. My school has a spreadsheet that correlates roughly our lectures with Zanki decks.

I’m behind, but I also don’t really know how? I haven’t seen anyone average 1100 review+new cards a day like me (not in a bragadocisous way, I might have a poor reference point though.) I haven’t even touched our school specific Anki or lecture PowerPoints.

How is it that I am behind but also putting in that many cards? Do people only unsuspend school specific ZAnki cards? For what it’s worth, I remember hearing one of our M3’s say they try to only learn 200 new cards a day, and I’m a little above that.

Am I focusing too much on boards exams? Who should I reach out to, if anyone at all?

Members don't see this ad.

It’s possible that Anki just doesn’t work for you or it only works to some extent. You’re burning yourself out using a study method that isn’t fully working so it feels like you’re studying like crazy but you’re not really learning or retaining anything.

If you’re at risk of failing classes, then your first priority should be school lecture powerpoints since that’s where the exams come from. Use Sketchy and Pathoma to supplement with school PowerPoints.

First of all, your school should have some kind of academic support person; talk to them.