Help needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Eas

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello.

This is my first time writing here, but i've been reading and gathering many information from this SDN community, thank you.

The reason why I'm writing is to ask you guys for directions.

I will not hide anything and put it as detail as possible so that you guys can give honest inputs.

*I live in California, Korean-American, first one to go to university in my family. Came to U.S. in junior year of high school. Technically got accepted to an excellent university in one and half year of studying in U.S.

*During high school, I was doing very well, but I had a difficult time to adjust to university level of education. Failed many classes. Received Academic Probations.

*I commuted from my home since freshman. I had no mentor. Although I entered to university to be a doctor, I had no direction or guidance of how to survive and pursue my dream in the university.
Eventually I was able to come back to the school, but i found out that to go to med school, I needed a superb GPA (I really didn't know until that time), which I didn't have.
I lost hope, and just dragged myself to graduate with BS in General Biology.

*Usually, applicants show an improvement of their academic performances, but my academic performances were steady.

*My GPA is 2.2.

*My dad had a stroke, and I spent most of my times to take care of him.

*I took MCAT as I take care of my dad, and got 26.

*I am currently teaching Biology at local high school, but after the graduation and caring my dad and teaching high school kids, I realized why I wanted to be a doctor. I learned that I was the one who gave up on the hope while I teach high school kids to keep up with their dream to be what they want to be.