HELP: Neurology Clerkship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

livewires

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third-year osteopathic student looking for some advice about acquiring an elective neuro rotation at a program where I might want to apply to residency. I have been calling various programs pleading for a chance to rotate during my third-year. Everyone of them says that they only accept fourth-year students and won't give me the time of day. I have two four-week electives this year: one next month and one in Feb. I really need some direction...I am anxious to get some high-quality clinical exposure. How should I approach this? I'de like to be in the South.

Thanks,
Josh

Members don't see this ad.

someone disagree if they've experienced otherwise, but it's a little unusual to do a neuro elective somewhere else if you haven't already done the clerkship at your school(is that the case?)...i dont think many places would allow such an arrangment(just makes sense). I did a neuro elective at my home school, at the end of 3rd year, but again, it was only open to folks who had completed the neuro clerkship already...granted it's an early match and you'd like to get an elective in there, but once you are sure you want to do neuro, you can always rotate somewhere/do an audition elective somewhere else during the summer after 3rd yr, and through the fall, there's plenty of time...

The problem is that there is no formal neuro rotation at my school. There is no university hospital connected so we branch out to do our core rotations by area. Therefore, I am kind of on my own here.

Members don't see this ad :)