Help! Nontrad needs advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HNPlima

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! Need advice :)

About me: I am 24 years old and currently work in the public health field. I have my Bachelor of Science, Master of Science (thesis) and master of public health (certificate in social and behavioral sciences). I also did a year of AmeriCorps (aug2011-july2012) in my last year of grad school (graduated may 2012) along with several internships (hospice, hospital, nonprofit) and worked part-fulltime throughout my 6 years of school to support myself. I currently work for an NGO in South America trying to build up my resume so I can apply for my PhD in international public health.

However, recently I have this yearning to go to medical school like I originally thought of doing years ago. I really love what I'm doing now, however, I feel like I am missing that medical aspect that I am not getting solely through Public Health. I've started looking at some post-bac premed programs and have been thinking about trying to do a MD/PHD program... I know they are extremely competitive, so I'd have to have really strong GRE/MCAT scores and a strong premed.

All of my grades in grad school and undergrad were basically straight A's or A/B, except for my pre-med classes. I had one rough year of school, taking too many hard courses (15-18), and working 2 jobs at the time. I decided that I could not do med school because of my awful year in premed classes.
Classes took in undergrad:
• Gen Chem: C
• Gen Chem Lab: A
• Bio 1: D - Retook again C
• Bio 1 Lab: C
• Stats: C, Grad Stats: B+
• Chem 2: Dropped first time, second B+
• Chem 2 Lab: C (from first time - did not retake)
• Physiology with Lab: C