help or hinder?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mfernando87

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
becoming a physician is my main goal, but knowing this isn't the easiest thing to do, so i figured it would be best for me to think up as backup plan.
if i can't be a physician, i would like to be a nurse, but i've heard that people applying to med schools with nursing degrees find it a lot harder to get in...should i go for a nursing degree and hope that it doesn't hinder my chances of getting into med school, or should i major in something else?
i would think that getting into a nursing program would only help me if i was accepted into med school, but i haven't heard anything of the sort... if anyone could give me any information on this i would really appreciate it! thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

i was a nurse for several years prior to entering med school four years ago (almost done, yes). There is no reason you cann't be an MD if that is what you really want to do. Nursing is a great field, but being one can be problematic when applying to med school...i took a lot of crap about it on the interview trail (for med school) and it at times was very frustruating (esp. when interviewing with PhDs who have never been at the bedside and can not comprehend why a nurse would want to go to med school). Generally, i didn't feel like schools really looked positively on my past experience. The good part about being an RN was that i had met several MDs who greatly helped me with awesome LORs. If you are planning to enter med school directly out of college, then i wouldn't pursue nursing. The only benefit it gives you is work experience and connections in the field. This is a tough call, but if you want to be an MD then go for it...major in something that allows you to get all your med school prereqs (i had to do post-bacc work for a year to get mine completed). Best of luck to