help! org chem

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dr.day

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need help! I am studying for my first organic chem exam and do not understand sp3 hybridization. Its been about 7 years since gen chem and cannot remember anything about orbitals at all! Unfortunately, I don't have any gen chem books around to look at and am not sure it would make sense anyway. Can somebody please explain this stuff to me in plain English??

Thanks!
:confused:

Members don't see this ad.

I would suggest that you first look in your textbook or a professor for help.
I just took my 1st organic chemistry last week and we had sp3 orbitals. First you have to understand what is hybridization. Hybridization is the "blending" of orbitals. A sp3 orbital has four sigma bonds that is bonded to a C atom. Those sigma bonds separate each other by 109.5 bond angle and has a tetrahedral molecular shape. Example of sp3 hybridization molecular is CH4 because hydrogen is bonded by 1 sigma bond 4 times to that C atom. If you understand sp2 and sp hybridizations then you should understand sp3 hybridization. Good luck on the test and don't panic, its just the first test (but you do want to do well on this test because it will be the easiest test of the semester)

sorry it doesn't only have to be bonded to a C atom but any centralized atom

Members don't see this ad :)
You originally have one s orbital and three p orbitals (which are equivalent to each other, but different from the s orbital), for a total of four orbitals. Think of sp3 hybridization as the four orbitals coming together and forming four equivalent sp3 orbitals. Hope this helps.

thanks for the quick response...I see I am not the only one home on a saturday night!