Should I take Organic Chem 2 for MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lovelypeace190213

Reaction score
I am a nontrad student looking to save money and apply to med school next summer. If I take Orgo 2 I may have to delay my application year another year. I hear Orgo 2 is not on the MCAT. Is that true? Most med schools dont require Orgo 2 as long as one takes biochem.

Can you read the description of my Orgo 1 course and let me know if that is sufficient for the MCAT?

Organic Chem 1: Study of the structure, properties, reaction mechanisms, and nomenclature of aliphatic and aromatic hydrocarbons and their derivatives.

Organic Chem 2: A study of the structure, properties, reaction mechanisms, synthesis, and infrared and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy of the alcohols, acids, amines, and other mono-functional compounds.

Members don't see this ad.

15% of your CPBS score will be organic chemistry.
You are potentially losing half of that score by not taking Organic 2 (unless you are self taught!).
Some schools still have pre-requisites that include it.
Did you read the course descriptions? What does the MCAT cover more of?

Members don't see this ad :)
Did you read the course descriptions? What does the MCAT cover more of?
There is no way to predict how much of each organic "half" you are likely to get in the version of the test administered to you.

Reactions: 1 user
There is no way to predict how much of each organic "half" you are likely to get in the version of the test administered to you.
I meant the MCAT that the AAMC created, does the content it lists match with orgo 1 at my school or orgo 2 more? I haven't taken orgo2 and i just started orgo 1 so that's why I need help.

15% of your CPBS score will be organic chemistry.
You are potentially losing half of that score by not taking Organic 2 (unless you are self taught!).
Some schools still have pre-requisites that include it.