Help please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

k9 <3er

UC Davis SVM c/o 2011
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I have been visiting this forum religiously for two months now so I finally decided to sign up! :oops:

I am applying to vet school this summer and I had a few questions.

1. I am not sure what to write for my explanation statement. I don't really have anything more to talk about. Is it absolutely mandatory to write something?

2. I am having a lot of trouble with my personal statement. At the moment, it sucks... :( I was hoping I could exchange emails with someone who has applied or is applying because I am in desperate need of help.

Any kind of help would be awesome! :D

Hope to hear from you guys soon!

Members don't see this ad.

k9 <3er said:
I am thinking about applying to many schools but am very low on funds. Do I have a "good chance" of getting in or should I just apply to a few schools to not waste money and just build my experience for the next round of apps?
It's a lot of work, but the best thing you can do is probably this: Figure out what schools would be on your "apply widely" list. Check web sites, the lists of average stats might let you rule out a couple from the start. Then call up admissions offices and make a phone appointment with the director of admissions, a dean of some kind, admissions counselors if they have them. (Beware, though... On the one hand, it's in the school's interest to get as many applicants as possible so they may give you false hope. Conversely, it's already been mentioned that some seem to make a habit of not encouraging anyone at all.) Make sure to ask about your chances as an out-of-state student. After all that you'll have a better idea where you've got a chance (and where you're likely to enjoy being a student).