Help! Stony Brook vs Drexel?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Goldenhair

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Please give me some advice. I know I am very lucky to be in this position to choose between these two schools (I really liked both). I just got off the waitlist at Stony Brook today, and need to make the decision asap. :confused:

I am a New York State resident, so tuition is obviously two times less at Stony Brook. On the other hand, I really liked Drexel at the time of my visit, their curriculum options are great, and the students' quality of life at Drexel is amazing: seems like both their PIL and IFM programs are so good that they don't have to sweat too much studying day and night but still can do well. (Since their lectures are all videotaped they can even go for a week of vacation on their own in the middle of the studying). Do you know about the quality of life at Stony Brook and the efficiency of their curriculum? I know this shouldn't be the main reason, but I do want some flexibility in the way I study.
Also at Drexel, I really liked the environment and the facilities. Well, haven't been to the hospital though. So as for the gut reaction: on my interview, I liked SB, but I think I had "stronger feelings" for Drexel. I know that for many students the location of Stony Brook being "nowhere" is a minus, not for me, I actually would rather live in a quiet area, but again, Drexel seemed to be in a quiet area as well. And yes, SB ranks higher in the official rankings than Drexel. Do you know how important for the future career is a school's ranking (I am not going into Orthopedic surgery or anything like this).
Thank you for your support guys. I have to make the decision soon, so any input is greatly appreciated. Also if you know some general tips how to choose please share them with us SDNers.:)

Members don't see this ad.

Congrats! My vote is for Stony!