Help! Where to apply with Low Stats!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JuliusPepperwood16

Reaction score
Hello, I am a first-generation student and am absolutely lost in this whole application cycle. I get to list 20 schools for free with the FAP but I want to make sure I don't waste a spot on a school that 100% will not let me in. I know I am not the greatest applicant with my stats and no medical school is easy to get into but I just want to know where I have my best chance.

Stats:
- GPA: 3.45
- MCAT: 509 (practice test, MCAT got canceled several times secondary to COVID)
- Black Female
- MN Resident
- Disadvantage status
- extracurriculars are good, I think (thousands of hours of clinical experience from scribing, 60 hours of shadowing, VP of a student org. lots of non-clinical and clinical volunteering, etc.)
- 5 great letters of rec.
- Personal statement spark notes: how my dad's death made me want to become a doctor

I would really appreciate any help I can get thank you!! I haven't really looked at DO because I just do not know much about them but I am open to that as well!

Here is my current list with some obvious reach schools (lol all med schools are reach schools for me)

- University of Minnesota
- Albany Medical College
- Boston University (lol)
- Californa Northstate University
- California University of Science and Medicine
- Creighton University
- Howard University
- LSU
- Loyola University- Chicago
- Medical College of Wisconsin
- Morehouse School of Medicine
- New York Medical College
- Pennsylvania State University
- Rush Medical College
- Tulane University (lol)
- University of Colorado School of Medicine
- University of Kansas
- University of North Dakota
- Wright State University

Members don't see this ad.