HELP! Willing to reinvent myself.... but 1. how much have I shot myself in the foot? 2. re-exams?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futurenjdoc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
To put a long story short, I've had an absolute devastating start to my academic career in podiatry. I'm a first year student and I failed two out of my first four courses.
The reasons were figuring out the proper methods of studying [I am a nontraditional student and have not been in school for a number of years], working, and dealing with family issues. I know what I have to fix and am committed to doing so.
I'm confident in my work ethic that I can turn things around by going over and beyond and giving maximal effort and focus to my studies. My concern lies in the damage that I have already done to myself.

1. I have recently learned that class rank and GPA are the top factors when getting into a residency. I imagine two F's on my transcript being an absolute death sentence to getting into a residency on the east coast (where I go to school). I am not sure how schools view upward trends and things of that nature.
2. I now have to take and pass two remedial exams for the courses that I have failed over the Summer. If I fail those, I have to repeat the year.This terrifies me - is it feasible to study concurrently for two monsterous beasts of an exam and still pass? Does anybody have any experience with this?

I am posting to simply field as much information and advice as I can. I have already contacted the dean at my school to set up a meeting, and I will voice my concerns.
Any kind of feedback at all is appreciated beyond your comprehension.
Happy holidays all.

Members don't see this ad.

Forget about residency and matching; you have to make it to the next semester, first.