Help with extracurricular/volunteer activities to engage in.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DaliaK

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my first year of B.S chemistry and I wanted to get started on extracurricular and volunteer activities that will help get me accepted into medical school.
Will anyone please give me ideas on the types of things that med schools are on the lookout for? I do realize that shadowing a physician is something that is expected and I'm going to get started on that soon, but what else can I do?
I'm also currently volunteering for a hospital.

Also, if you guys could share what you have done, that would be swell!

Thank you in advance for your help!
Cheers :)

Members don't see this ad.

Find something you enjoy, your enthusiasm will be much higher valued than the specific thing you do. If you are already getting clinical exposure, then there is no specific thing you should be doing. Find a long term volunteering position, get good grades, and try to find leadership opportunities to engage in.

If your volunteer/community service/EC's are an organic outgrowth of your actual interests and community, you will develop both as a person and as an applicant.
"Trying on" the successful EC's of others looks like what it is: an awkward, spackled-on activity designed for the purpose of admission. The best applicants give us that feeling of genuine altruism in their EC's, not poorly fitting but standard activities.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Check with your local houses of worship for volunteer opportunities.

I'm in my first year of B.S chemistry and I wanted to get started on extracurricular and volunteer activities that will help get me accepted into medical school.