Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Help with next semester schedule...

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by nichtmeinbier, Mar 6, 2007.

1. nichtmeinbier

My major is biochem...have first minor in bio and for just a couple more classes i can have a minor and certification in biotechnology...so, should i take pchem and biochem next semester and just try to do reaallly well in those beastly classes, or should i go balls to the wall and take biotechnology on top of those? Keep in mind I'll also have philo and a language...and an english class will replace the biotech if i decide against it...any help would be nice!:confused:

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. HumbleMD

HumbleMD hmmmm...

Resident [Any Field]
    Have no clue what a certification in biotechnology is...

I'm a biochem major, finishing up my last semester. In my program, the first sem of biochem involved a lot of memorization, whereas pchem was more math based, so they complement eachother well. As far as doing 3 chem classes in a term, you'll probably have to do it sometime. I had taken PChem, Genetics, and Analytical Chem together with some research and a physics lab. It almost killed me, but I made it through. Do what you have to do, but doesn't a biochem major with a bio minor seem a little redundant?

4. VCgirl

VCgirl New Member

Pre-Medical
    If you feel like you can do it, stick with Biochem. That was also my major. I took P Chem my senior year along with Calculus, Forensic Anthropology (300 level class), Genetics, and Adv. Organic. P Chem is not that bad. An understanding of multi-variable calc would be great. I did fine and took single-variable calc at the same time. You'll hear a lot of rumors that P Chem is the hardest class, ect. I feel that it is, but it also depends on how much time you are willing to spend understanding the concepts. Good luck with your decision.