Helpppp! How important is a letter from DO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdage

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am trying to apply for 4 DO schools for the entering class of 2006. But I have not had any contact with a DO doctor. I have been looking for an opportunity to work for a DO for a month, but I haven't had any luck. My question is how important it is to get a letter for a DO? I am a volunteer EMT. In November I will start my volunteer in a hospital. My Gpa is 3.97 and August MCAT is 28Q. Do I have chance to get in Nycom without a DO letter? Any suggestion will be highly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

The DO letter requirement is such a crock of ****. It's like saying you can't be an architect unless you know and have shadowed an architect. I find this letter requirement offensive, inbred and mafia-like. I am a first year at NYCOM and can tell you with those stats you are probably golden. Don't bother with the stupid letter.

If you want to be extra anal, go bother some DO out of the phone book and explain to them the stupid requirement. I am sure you will find some sympathetic soul that will write you the letter. But honestly, what a freaking waste of time. Actually, I don't think NYCOM requires it. So don't bother. Of the schools I applied to, only NOVA had that required. They also had a dress requirement for lectures. So all I can say is: don't apply to NOVA. And Good Luck.

I Fell

Members don't see this ad :)
Nate said:
UMDNJ does not require a DO letter, good luck.

Hey nate....could you have UMDNJ send me some love?

About getting a letter and shadowing... is it okay to write a letter instead of calling. If you call, you're probably going to get a secretary or someone, not the doc. With a letter, the secretary can hand it to him at the end of the day, or whatever. Any advice on this?