Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Here is my situation

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by Doh1, Oct 2, 2018.

1. Doh1

So this is my situation.

I completed my undergraduate degree in Biology about 4 years ago (2010-2014)
    since then I had been looking for what career I wanted to get to and decided I would make a decision by the time I was 25. Needless to say I chose pharmacy. I have been working in healthcare for about 4 years now as well as other jobs.

My undergraduate GPA was low (2.5)
    but since graduating I had retaken anything I had gotten below a C- as well as other pre-requisites

this totaled about 8 or 9 classes and every class I took I received an A or B grade. With that being said the only hiccups left on my transcript is a C- in Orgo II as well as a C- in general chemistry I. I understand the material 100% but I refuse to retake Orgo II over because it was a very stressful course.

my question is what are my chances of getting into pharmacy schools with these 2 C- grades?

Do I still have a realistic shot getting into schools who specify on their front page that only grades of C or better will be accepted or will they ask me to retake it?

would admissions committee look at my post graduation transcript and see that I earned a 3.4 gpa in those courses and overlook the fact that I received those grades in my undergrad?

2. capri1722

capri1722 c/o 2022

Pharmacy Student
    If they specify only C or better, they probably will not take a C-. Some schools even say specifically that a C- is not acceptable. You can always call the school(s) you're interested in and ask.

Doh1 likes this.
  3. Doh1

I noticed some schools have taken the "C- is not acceptable" off their respective websites. This makes me think it is possible although unlikely.

edit: