DOin it

10+ Year Member
Aug 6, 2006
Status
Pre-Dental
alright everyone, i truly believe anything's possible...but it would still help to hear some feedback from other pre-meders and/or current med students. i'm new to sdn, but have noted that you guys seem to be a great resource and source of encouragement. keep it up!
here are my stats, i would appreciate any feedback that you might have:
dual major: Biology-Chemistry & Span.

*3.4 gpa (i know a little below avg)
*taking aug mcat (<2 wks ahhh!): scoring 22's with kaplan practice exams (although i hear these might be more difficult than AAMC exams...some have reported pt increases on avg of 3-4pts with actual exam...(also would appreciate more info on kaplan vs aamc mcat if anyone knows anything).
*numerous volunteer/community service hours and leadership roles held.
*clinical research experience; journal publication; on-campus health asst (2yrs)
*foreign study abroad, ecuador (5 mo); and translator and asst to physicians in nicaragua (1 mo).
* great recs from a DO and MD physician.

AngryBaby

El Hefe
10+ Year Member
Sep 16, 2004
Somewhere in-between success and failure
Status
Medical Student
with regards to your kaplan prep vs. real-deal MCAT question, I heard that kaplan was about the same as the MCAT and princeton review was more difficult...but I take all that with a grain of salt. For me personally, I took Kaplan and scored right at where my practice exams were.

Hardbody

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 14, 2005
Status
DOin it said:
alright everyone, i truly believe anything's possible...but it would still help to hear some feedback from other pre-meders and/or current med students. i'm new to sdn, but have noted that you guys seem to be a great resource and source of encouragement. keep it up!