Hi

umqt73

10+ Year Member
Apr 30, 2008
  1. Medical Student
    Hi. I am a first-year medical student at University of Miami, and I recently learned about PM&R as a specialty. I just met a physiatrist at a lecture last week on complementary medicine and before then I did not even know that this field of medicine existed. I wish I had known about PM&R sooner because it sounds like such an interesting field.

I would greatly appreciate any advice that you can give me about pursuing physiatry.

Here are a few questions I have to begin with:
    1) Is there a difference b/w PM&R and physiatry?
    2) Do you apply to a PM&R residency directly or do you first have to do a year of internal medicine or some other general kind of residency?
    3) Can you do an externship in PM&R at more than one school during third and fourth year?
    4) What other clerkships during 3rd and 4th year are helpful to better prepare you for a future in PM&R?
    5) What is the average board score to get a residency spot in PM&R?
    Any other advice that you may have would be great, and very appreciated, as well!

Thank you,
    Kim

SG1

10+ Year Member
    Aug 11, 2006
    1. Resident [Any Field]
      Glad you found us!

Same thing. We just like to confuse people & ourselves with 2 names.

2) Do you apply to a PM&R residency directly or do you first have to do a year of internal medicine or some other general kind of residency?

Here are the options:
      4 year program--you apply to 1 program & do all 4 years in the same place
      3 year program--you apply to the PM&R program & to separate intern year programs
      Other--some programs have a set # of 1st year spots, so some people can go there for intern year but others do their intern year elsewhere.

I think most of us probably ended up applying to both PM&R & intern year programs. The match computer system is smart enough to figure out how to do all of this.