Hi

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

umqt73

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I am a first-year medical student at University of Miami, and I recently learned about PM&R as a specialty. I just met a physiatrist at a lecture last week on complementary medicine and before then I did not even know that this field of medicine existed. I wish I had known about PM&R sooner because it sounds like such an interesting field.

I would greatly appreciate any advice that you can give me about pursuing physiatry.

Here are a few questions I have to begin with:
1) Is there a difference b/w PM&R and physiatry?
2) Do you apply to a PM&R residency directly or do you first have to do a year of internal medicine or some other general kind of residency?
3) Can you do an externship in PM&R at more than one school during third and fourth year?
4) What other clerkships during 3rd and 4th year are helpful to better prepare you for a future in PM&R?
5) What is the average board score to get a residency spot in PM&R?
Any other advice that you may have would be great, and very appreciated, as well!

Thank you,
Kim

Members don't see this ad.

Glad you found us!

Same thing. We just like to confuse people & ourselves with 2 names.

2) Do you apply to a PM&R residency directly or do you first have to do a year of internal medicine or some other general kind of residency?

Here are the options:
4 year program--you apply to 1 program & do all 4 years in the same place
3 year program--you apply to the PM&R program & to separate intern year programs
Other--some programs have a set # of 1st year spots, so some people can go there for intern year but others do their intern year elsewhere.

I think most of us probably ended up applying to both PM&R & intern year programs. The match computer system is smart enough to figure out how to do all of this.