Hilarious CRNA story from last night

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

darkmansaad

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So as I am enjoying an ice cold beer, savoring an amazing night in NYC, thinking about my future fellowship in Boston, and getting ready to see a band at the Bowery Ballroom downtown (The 1975 btw, who are F-NG AWESOME) my ear catches some conversation from the people next to me. They just met, and the girl introduced themselves to the guy as an "anesthesiologist," after which the guy asks "wow, so you're a doctor?" to which the response is "Yeah, its kinda fun not going to lie" or something like that.

I think woah, cool, fellow anesthesia peeps at a rock show in the Lower East Side? Man I love my field. Start talking to the group and turns out that our anesthesiologist is a first year SNA student. WHAAAAT.

As a resident, I have never had problems with CRNAs, and maybe lying about your job at the bar is something people do, sure. But the ease of which this person convinced a stranger of who they were, and what they did, and the lack of awareness of members of the general public of who exactly puts them to sleep was kind of eye opening. I doubt this conversation would be very different from one preoperatively with a member of the perioperative team. Either way, I didnt harp on the facts or say "Oh I thought you were a doctor?" or make any awkward conversation. That would be ungentlemanly and I think this person sort of knew that they had just barked at the wrong tree, so to speak.

Anyway, show was solid. Band killed it. I thought I'd share this. Stuff like this makes me believe that some of the more militant and sinister attitudes are more silently pervasive than we think and we don't get a real look at it because when we are identified as "physicians" these attitudes dont get spoken. But being a silent observer sure has its benefits.