Homosexuals and application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

acecaliber

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a homosexual pre-med student, and i have been involved with a campus student group organization that strives to promote awareness and tolerance for homosexuals among the student body. do you think my chances of acceptance to med school would decrease if i put this as part of my extracurricular activities?
Thanx :)

Members don't see this ad.

I would imagine that it depends on the school. See if you can find out more info on the school (ie: student clubs, community projects, etc) to get a better feel for things.

Keep in mind: adcoms tend to be conservative.

To be safe, I would definitely not put it down. I can't imagine it helping you get in, but I can imagine you being discriminated against. Once you get in, express yourself however you want.

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by acecaliber
Hi,
I'm a homosexual pre-med student, and i have been involved with a campus student group organization that strives to promote awareness and tolerance for homosexuals among the student body. do you think my chances of acceptance to med school would decrease if i put this as part of my extracurricular activities?
Thanx :)

Echoing other posters warnings of the conservative nature of the adcoms.

But does involvement in a gay rights/gay awareness group automatically mark one as a homosexual?

It's funny that involvement perhaps in an AIDS/HIV awareness group would get you kudos, and not imply that you were a IV drug abuser or practicing unsafe sex. Or could it be sad.

Sad, I think.

Yeah, keep yer mouth shut during the application process, and then Act Up! after you're admitted.

- Tae