Lucky Buck

Peeping Torgo
10+ Year Member
Feb 18, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
I've been reading these posts for soo long, I feel as though you are all distant relatives now.
This is my first real post, so hello to all. As it’s been said by others, I have gleaned a great deal of hope and encouragement from everyone’s story. So, it’s only fair to tell you mine.
First off, I am officially a non-trad, as I am a ripe 32 years old. I grew up loving science and history. In high school, I was a closet-dork. I would do things like hang out with the biology teacher during lunch and do experiments at home (DNA extractions in my room, crossing pea plants, breeding cichlids); typical high school stuff. I was also a baseball player and when my friends caught wind of the things I liked to do in my freetime....they let me have it. Being immature, I let peer pressure and a desire to be viewed as cool to lead me astray from science.
I graduated from high school with mediocre grades and attended a local college in order to be close to my girlfiend. This is where it all went down hill. Minutes before my first chemistry exam, I started loosing my vision and I had a terrible headache. I missed the exam, was taken to the hospital; conclusion...a bad migraine. I approached the Chem. Prof and explained what happened. He refused to allow me to make up the exam. I just assumed I had no options and figured I had blown my academic career. I stopped going to class and finished the semester with an F in Chem., C in Chem. Lab, D in College Writing, C in Geography, D in College Alg, and to top it off, an A in Honors Forum!! If I knew what I know now, I would have gone to the department head and petitioned until I was given another chance to take that damn test. Oh well, I didn’t know my options then; water under the bridge.