Hoping for an MD acceptance in the future

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AP03

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will be starting my 3rd year of undergrad this fall and I'm hoping someone could give me a little bit of advice/insight on my situation based on the stats I have now.

I started college and endured some hardships resulting in a GPA of 0.75 (I didn't finish the semester, I simply quit attending). After starting a new university, I completed two years with a cGPA of 3.51. With both GPAs figured, I have about a 2.81 (sGPA is much higher - none of the classes taken my very first semester were science classes). I plan on spending an extra year in undergrad to try to increase my GPA some. Obviously, I know I have to get as close to a 4.0 every semester from now on (it's not so easy with a 2 year old and having to work full time but I'm trying) My major is Molecular Biology and Biotechnology. I haven't declared a minor yet.

Over the past two years, I have:
-worked full time (40 hrs/week) as a Pharm Tech
-volunteered at a local hospital in the ER (so far only 40 hrs) but I plan to continue until I apply
- volunteered with various organizations (i.e. Salvation Army)
- Pre-Med Club
- Molecular Bio Club (Vice President)
- Raised $5,000 for cancer research (this was a project that I developed and lead)
- so far, 6 months of research involving public accessibility to healthcare (still currently working - publication to come)
- Recently started another research project involving Cancer research. We have projected that this will continue for the next year or so with a publication in the future.

Future plans:
-I plan to shadow doctors in three different specialties
-I will continue the research I'm working on now possibly adding more.
-I plan to continue volunteering at the hospital
-I would like to do more volunteering throughout my community.