Horrible GPA, don't know what to do

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

om1man

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I am currently going into my senior year in the Biomedical Engineering (BME) program at Johns Hopkins. I have two medical device startups and a patent. I have a lot of research experience as well. Med school is my absolute dream. If you told me it would take 50 years to get there, I would try for 50 years because thats how passionate I am about medicine.

However, my GPA is a 2.4. Abysmal. I didn't try at the beginning of my college career because in high school I never needed to, and in college I suffered from depression, went out too much, and was extremely sick for a semester and a half. Overall, it's just been a rocky road. I'm not an engineer - it has killed my GPA. However, I'm the kind person who feels as though I were born to be a doctor.

I think I could score near perfect on my MCAT. (not me being arrogant - practice tests have been 511+ without taking a prep course). I'm gonna work on getting letters of rec or at least establishing relationships with my professors this year.

My question, though, is what path to take to medical school. Should I do a post-bacc or an SMP? Do I work for a couple years? How would I even get into a program like the aforementioned ones. Any advice for a frantic girl with a dream and not much time left would be greatly appreciated!

Edit:
After summer courses and rounding, GPA is now 2.6.
Also, I came in to Hopkins with credits and our first semester is covered grades, so by the time i finished my freshman year I had EVERY pre-med course completed. Mostly B's and the ones that were A's are not factored into my GPA because of covered grades (orgo, physics, calc, mol/cell)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi!