Hospital Pharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

firstcitizen

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been working at a major chain pharmacy for about two years now. We're a pretty high volume store and when I don't have school during the summer they give me 10 hr shifts. Since we're severly understaffed like anywhere else, I feel as if I'm enduring a perpetual heart attack during those 10 hours since we're working at breakneck speeds to keep up with the workload. You all well know what it's like. Sometimes I question whether I can endure that day-in and day-out in the future.

I haven't had any exposure to a hospital environment, so I was wondering what the work environment is like at either an in-patient or out-patient pharmacy. Do you stand on your feet all day and feel hustled to work faster under a timeclock?

Members don't see this ad.

I do inpatient pharmacy. I've never had any experience with an outpt hospital pharmacy.

No, I'm not on my feet all day. I do walk a lot during the day.

No, I don't work at breakneck speeds when I work inpt, but I don't work that way when I'm in a retail setting either - thats just the way I am.

Both environments are understaffed.

I left full time inpt work due to staffing considerations, so that environment is not paradise either.

What retail pharmacy do you work at and where?

Members don't see this ad :)

sorry - I can't divulge the ID of my employment - just would put me too close to the line of divulging information which I've agreed by my employment can only be kept confidential....:(

I will be happy to divulge that information! She really works for AACP and rats pre-pharm people out that say silly things like, "this school sucks because...." The second job thing she claims is really just a ruse...