How bad does this look?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wiseman27

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So last semester a buddy and I went to campus and took a table to use at our house. It was a Sunday and no one was there to ask to borrow it, so we made the mistake of just taking it. We got lazy and didn't return it for a few days, and it caught up with us. We ended up getting charged with theft of college property and received 70 hours of community service (10 per week for 7 weeks). during this time i managed to keep semester gpa of 3.7 and work approximately 30 hours a week. i feel like i learned a valuable lesson from all this but will the admissions committees feel the same? I have a 3.7 cum gpa and an 18aa 17 pat dat (im retaking later). this summer has me doing 40 hours of research per week and i am also a lab ta and tutor at the college. i will be applying next summer. is this dumb mistake going to hurt me? will it come up during an interview? i dont want a single incident to ruin my chances at getting into dental school, but im only human and we learn from our mistakes. will the admission committees overlook this mishap?

Members don't see this ad.

just be honest about it on your application and hope the topic doesn't come up during an interview. if it does, they'll probably just ask if you took it for flip cup or beer pong :laugh:

i don't know how they'll look at it, but I cant imagine they'd be too keen on looking at your app if that's one of the first things they see.

that is a REALLY shatty way to get screwballed beyond belief. I hope it allworks out for you, and I'm sure you have have learned to never ake anythin that doesn't belong to you home again.... ouch!

Members don't see this ad :)