How bad is it when one class brings down your whole GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Plue00

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a stupid language requirement at my school and I'm taking Latin. I should end this semester with an A or A- in every other class (13/17 credits) except for Latin(4/17 credits), which would be a C or C+ at best. How is it viewed when 1 class, (2 semesters of latin = 8 credits, 2 semesters left = 6 credits) brings down your whole overall GPA? I'm still in my first year and it looks like my overall GPA is going to be ~3.4 and a sGPA of ~3.7. Latin was 8/30 credits I took this year.

I know I have 3 more years to improve but I'm pretty horrible at Latin and I have two semesters of it left. Would it look that bad if just these Latin classes bring my GPA down but I have an okay sGPA?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

It doesn't affect your chances severely. Of course, if it brings down your GPA to a 3.4, THAT would be the factor that affects your chances, but you have a lot of time left to dilute those C's.

Just do good in your other classes. It's possible to get into a top 20 school with a C in a class (even a science class!), as long as you do well in your other classes.

Good luck.

I have a stupid language requirement at my school and I'm taking Latin. I should end this semester with an A or A- in every other class (13/17 credits) except for Latin(4/17 credits), which would be a C or C+ at best. How is it viewed when 1 class, (2 semesters of latin = 8 credits, 2 semesters left = 6 credits) brings down your whole overall GPA? I'm still in my first year and it looks like my overall GPA is going to be ~3.4 and a sGPA of ~3.7. Latin was 8/30 credits I took this year.